Stomach Viruses and Beach Camping : Valentine’s Day 2014

Image

Valentine’s Card from my lovely friend Lisa

Ryan and I had a bit of a roller coaster ride in early February.  We had decided to go beach camping for Valentine’s Day, and then, less than 2 weeks before hand, I came down with a crazy stomach virus.  

IMG_9518

I went out the first day and bought all the right things that I thought would fix me.  They didn’t.

I missed some work.  I went to urgent care.  They told me to give it a week, and if it didn’t get better in a week, to come back again.

eqw

Nothing I put in me for about 5 days stayed in for any time at all.  Around day 5, Ryan came down with the same thing.  It was not pretty.  We were a mess.  By the time I was one week in and Ryan was 2 really intense days into stomach virusness, I drove to work to pick him up (he had had to teach and was shaking by the end of the lab).  We drove to Ralph’s and sat in the parking lot trying to muster enough strength to go inside and buy gatorade for half an hour before I finally sucked it up and went in.  Ryan stayed in the car shaking.

IMG_9589

I somehow managed to buy a ton of gatorade, some crappy soup, and even some capri suns.

And we finally started to get better.

IMG_9578

A chocolate scone from Coral Tree Cafe was my first “real food.” It was delicious.

And by Valentine’s Day, we were both recovered enough that we were pretty sure camping was going to be fine.  [Spoiler alert: we survived just fine]

IMG_9662

On the way up to Malibu, we stopped to pick up some breakfast supplies.

IMG_9665

Because who can say no to Krispy Kreme?

 

And we stopped into Malibu Seafood for some lunch before checking in to the campground.

IMG_9690

IMG_9697

IMG_9704

Ryan is always watching the water

IMG_9718

IMG_9731

Deliciousness

Then we continued up the coast to our campground.

IMG_9737

I always love driving by Morning View because it’s the name of my favorite Incubus album, which I guess was named for this area/street

IMG_9747

 

IMG_9768

And while Ryan unpacked our gear, I made drinks.

IMG_9755

In case you were wondering: yes, these are the leftover Capri Suns from our stomach virus, and yes, capri suns + white wine = pretty awesome beach drink.

IMG_9769

Naturally, Ryan was rigging up this whole time and couldn’t wait to hit the water.

IMG_9775

IMG_9804

Ryan’s first perch of the day

IMG_9808

IMG_9851

Mussels up close

IMG_9888

IMG_9889

Sea Urchins

IMG_9890

Starfish

IMG_9891

 

Once it started to get dark, we headed back to our campsite.

IMG_9887

We built a fire and the sun set really fast.

IMG_9899

IMG_9905

 

We ate turtles (not the animal–this kind, which I learned girl scout camping) and riceroni (two of our camping staples) and spiked apple cider and smores, but you’ll have to trust me on all of that because it was way too dark for pictures.

I woke up the next morning to this view:

IMG_0010

 

Some people want restaurant dinners and chocolates and roses for Valentines.  But I’ll take smores and a campfire and waking up to waves crashing over all that any day.

IMG_0014

We went on a quick round of fishing at the far end of the beach, and then went back to make breakfast and pack up.

IMG_0031

Unhealthiest breakfast ever! But so delicious!

 

IMG_0032

IMG_0035

I still can’t believe this beautiful piece of beach was ours for a whole day

IMG_0045

Enjoying the view one last time before packing up

IMG_0066

And return we shall

IMG_0075

There are worse ways to spend a Valentine’s Day

 

Upon returning to LA, I baked up some adorable spritz cookies.  You didn’t think I’d let a holiday go by without a cute baking project, did you?

IMG_9603

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

 

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

IMG_9647

Valentines

Leave a Reply

