Chris comes to LA!

[Yes, I’m still catching up blogging from January.  One day I will be able to blog in near-real-time. But today is not that day]

I received the most fantastic birthday present via air mail right after we returned from Laguna Beach.  It was my marvelous college roommate Chris!  And we crammed as much of LA into the days she was here as we possibly could.  

Image

I knew right away that we needed to go to Malibu.  

 

 

 

Image

 

I couldn’t remember where to park for Carbon Beach, so we headed to Zuma.  The weather was gorgeous, especially for January.

 

 

Image

 

In true Malibu, it also got crazy foggy/misty for a while.  Chris didn’t mind, though, and even took a run on the beach after our awesome walk.

 

 

 

Image

 

Then we hit Urth Caffe for lunch.  

 

 

 

 

Image

Mmmm

Chris taught me a lot about cooking in college and I learned how to make some tasty vegan treats.  She occasionally eats meat now, and made us a kickass dinner of chicken, brussel sprouts, and quinoa.  The first time I ever had quinoa, Chris made it and convinced me to try it even though it looked like fish eggs.  Now it’s a staple grain in our apartment.   

 

 

 

ImageImage

 

I followed up with mini blackberry cobblers.  

 

Image

 

I knew we also had to make a trip to the Getty Center.  

 

ImageImageImageImage

 

Image

 

Image

 

The gardens are insanely gorgeous year round.  We basically blew off the museum part and wandered through the plants the whole afternoon.

 

ImageImageImage

 

Image

They even had a pomegranate tree!
I want a pomegranate tree!

 

ImageImageImageImageImage

 

Image

Skyline shot

 

Image

 

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

 

We followed up our awesome adventure with an awesome dinner.  We made chicken pesto pasta and Chris taught me how to make artichokes properly.  We drowned them in butter.  

 

Image

 

The next day we went to Hollywood for tea and brunch to a spot Chris’s aunt recommended.  It did not disappoint.  They made yummy pancakes.  And as long as I live, Chris and I will never have enough tea parties.  

 

Image

Image

Tea buddies for life

After wandering Hollywood, we realized we could make it to the beach in time to watch the sun set.  So we braved the traffic on Sunset to go watch the sunset.  

ImageImageImageImageImage

Image

The sunset put on a good show

We hit 800 Degrees, one of our Westwood staples, for Chris’s last LA meal.  

Image

Best roomie ever!

And followed up with a nighttime visit to the Santa Monica pier.  

Chris and I live such busy lives that it’s almost impossible to keep in touch properly, but every time I talk to her, it feels like we’re right back at Clairmont, drinking tea and talking.  It was such an awesome, albeit whirlwind, visit.  She and her guy better watch out though because I’m keeping an eye on tickets to Arkansas and we’re going to commence tea partying and dog walking before too long.  

Image

Leave a Reply

