Homemade Cranberry Curd

Image

I’ve really been digging Martha Stewart’s Living magazine this past year.  I’ve always been a big magazine reader, but I keep pulling recipes and crafts and articles out of Living like it’s my job, which is strange, because I never felt super kindred to Martha.  When I saw her recipe for Cranberry Curd in [I think?] the November issue, I knew I wanted to make a jar for my cranberry-loving Grandma.  She makes her own cranberry sauce every Thanksgiving, and she also loves lemon curd, so I thought this would be perfect for her.  I’d also never worked with cranberries before, so this was pretty cool.  Image

Plus, how pretty are these berries?  Image

All washed off

Image

My grandma insists no cranberries are equal to Ocean Spray, so of course they’re what I started with

Image

Cranberry Curd  [Modified from Martha Stewart’s]

 

Ingredients

 

4 cups fresh or unthawed frozen cranberries (from one 14.5-ounce package)

1/2 cup water

2/3 cup orange juice (from about 3 oranges)

5 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into pieces

1/2 cup sugar (Martha uses a whole cup)

Pinch of coarse salt

3 large egg yolks plus 1 large whole egg 

 

 1. Place cranberries, water, and orange juice in a saucepan, cover, and cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until cranberries burst, about 1 hour. Press through a fine sieve, scraping back of sieve to get all the pulp (you should have about 1 3/4 cups), and discard solids. Cook pulp in pan with butter, sugar, and salt over medium heat, stirring, until butter is melted and sugar is dissolved, about 7 minutes.

 

2. Whisk together egg yolks and egg in a medium bowl, then stir in cranberry mixture a spoonful at a time to temper it. Return mixture to pan and cook over low heat, stirring constantly, until mixture is thickened, about 8 minutes. Pass through sieve into a bowl.  Keep refrigerated.

Image

I used half the sugar that Martha did and didn’t miss it at all.  This was just the right amount of tart and just sweet enough.  Image

Post-straining

Image

Nice and thick

ImageImageImage

 

That pan may or may not have gotten licked ; )

Martha serves hers in mini tarts, but I liked it on toast or over angel food cake.

One thought on “Homemade Cranberry Curd

  1. Pingback: Throwback Saturday – Thanksgiving | Ramblings of a Twenty-Something Writer

Leave a Reply

