Quick and Easy Hummus

Image

Hummus is one of the earliest things I can remember “cooking.”  The recipe I used came from this little book of easy foods kids could make, and included recipes for things like ants on a log.  This was my first recipe I could make by heart, and it was so easy and so delicious that we always had a tub of hummus in the fridge when I was growing up.

Image

That’s all you need!  Seriously.  The only weird-ish ingredient is tahini, but it lasts a long time in the fridge (it’s sesame paste, but more like peanut butter than anything else).  If you’re struggling to use up a big jar, the Kitchn did a good post recently on what to do with leftover tahini, or you could even whip up your own!  

Here’s my basic recipe, which I wrote down years and years ago in my little book of awesome recipes.  

Image

It’s super easy to make.  Drain and rinse one 15 oz. can of chickpeas, throw everything into a food processor/magic bullet, add olive oil a bit at a time and blend until it’s smooth.  I like my hummus thicker, so I use probably actually 3 tbsp. olive oil, but some people like it runnier, so you could obviously add more.  I like my hummus super garlicky and throw in about 4 cloves of garlic, but when I was little and made this, we used that minced jarred garlic, which was way less garlicky, so probably a tablespoon did it.  

Image

I’ll admit I’m usually to lazy to make hummus and buy a tub at Trader Joe’s, but honestly, this is so easy to throw together.  And it’s easy to modify.  Sometimes I make this hummus with a ton of cumin, sometimes I make it spicier (hello, sriracha!), sometimes I add extra lemon juice.  

My favorite go-to lunch as a kid was a toasted pita, filled with hummus and cut up green onions.  So, so yummy.  

Nowadays, I like hummus spread on sandwiches, dipped into with red pepper strips and carrots, or bundled onto a pita with falafel.  Oh, the possibilities.

Any other hummus variations?  How do you like your hummus?  

2 thoughts on “Quick and Easy Hummus

  1. And usually lemon juice, but this time it’ll be fresh limes! Celebrating low trigyceride number this time at the doc’s (actually nurse practitioner’s – she’s super smart & maybe even more savvy than he is on this) office, time to make a big batch of hummus with lots of garlic, cumin & sriracha. This blog reminded me to get to it ASAP. 😎

Leave a Reply

