Holy Guacamole and Strawberry Margaritas! It’s Cinco de Mayo!

Happy Cinco de Mayo!

For some, Cinco de Mayo is basically Mexican St. Patrick’s Day.  It’s a day to celebrate/embrace racial stereotypes and drink a lot of margaritas and tequila and eat nachos until you pass out.  I wouldn’t say I celebrate Cinco de Mayo, exactly, but I get into the Mexican food spirit.  Which I don’t really need a holiday to do.  But it’s a convenient excuse.  And Mexican food is awesome, especially in LA.  Also in Texas, but I guess that’s tex-mex… and now I’m craving fajitas.

I worked most of the afternoon, so I came home to help make a little Mexican-inspired feast.  And I was craving guac (it’s always a good time for guacamole), margaritas, and red beans and rice.  Mmm.  Even though the last one is more Cajun than Mexican.  Beans and rice are in the right spirit.

IMG_0552

Ryan makes better guacamole than I do.  Are you happy now, Ryan?  It’s in writing, and published on the internets, so it’s basically fact now.

Just so you understand, I make good guac.  But I’m a lazy chopper.  Ryan is a more dedicated chopper.  Which is why I’ve designated him guac king.  Hopefully he will make all the guac from now on.  That would be awesome.

Ryan’s Guacamole “Recipe”

(he doesn’t really use a recipe, and adjusts depending on how many avocados, etc. we’re using, but this is his closest approximation of what he does)

2 large Haas Avocados (these were seriously huge avocados, but the dark, bumpy ones, not the enormous, smooth green ones)

3 cloves garlic

1/2 jalapeño (we buy lots and freeze them)

1/4 cup chopped onion (preferably red)

1 tomato, “rustically diced” (not too small or perfect)

1 handful cilantro

~1 tbsp cumin

~1 tbsp coriander

~1 tsp salt

juice of 1-1.5 limes

Chop basically everything (except avocados).  Garlic and jalapeño should be as fine as you can get them.  Everything else can be “rustically diced.”  Mash it all together (Ryan likes to use a potato masher) in a large enough container to mash in.  Eat.

IMG_0566

After work, I needed a drink.  Or two.  I was leaning towards mango margaritas, but we have a ton of strawberries, so I decided we’d go in that direction.

My end product is a very loose interpretation of Guy Fieri’s.  Normally, not a big fan of his, but I’ll give him kudos for using all real ingredients (half the recipes I found called for limeade concentrate or other glop).  I didn’t have half of what I needed on hand, but here’s what I did:

IMG_0554

Christina’s Strawberry Frozen Margaritas

ala Magic Bullet.  Because that’s how I roll.  Makes 2.  Double or triple the recipe if needed.

8 strawberries, washed and cored

8 ice cubes

4 shots tequila

2 shots triple sec (I was out, I know, abomination, so I used peach schnapps.  Still good.)

3 packets stevia/splenda (or, you know, sugar.  Or simple syrup, which is good, but I rarely bother to make.  I used stevia)

Blend, pour into two glasses.  Drink.  Repeat until desired level of consciousness/tipsiness is reached.

IMG_0555

The red beans and rice were less exciting/homemade.  Ryan made a box of Zatarain’s Jambalaya and added a can of red beans.

IMG_6373

Not our best effort, but pretty decent, if salty.

IMG_0563

 

So there you have it.  Cinco de Mayo.  Also, Ryan added strawberry garnishes and straws to the margaritas because he thought they should look fancier for the pictures.  He’s learning well.

And here’s a pretty picture of the sunflowers on our kitchen table, just because.

IMG_0550

Did anybody else celebrate?  What did y’all do?

Leave a Reply

