Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

IMG_5918

Happy St. Patrick’s Day, y’all!

In honor of St. Patrick’s, and in spite of working all day, I made cookies.  These cookies almost didn’t happen, and were quite improvisational, as we had somehow run out of eggs and had to make a CVS run, and then realized while measuring ingredients that we had somehow run out of flour.  Baking fail.

I used my awesome cookie press that I got for Christmas, after marveling over my mum’s press for years as we cranked out hundreds of heart-, christmas tree-, wreath-, and clover-shaped cookies each corresponding holiday for my entire childhood.  While I didn’t love the recipe that came with the kit, my mom’s recipe, which came with her second press, never fails.  Here it is:

With Progressive International cookie press (1994):

1 cup butter or margarine, softened
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 1/2 cps flour (not self rising)
1 teaspoon almond or vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 400 Fahrenheit. Cream butter & sugar & blend in remaining ingredients. (It may be necessary to chill the dough slightly to obtain a firmer consistency.)
Fill cookie press & form desired shapes onto ungraded cookie sheet.
Bake 6-9 minutes or until set, but not brown.
Makes about 5 dozen spritz cookies.

Food coloring is always fun, too.  Hence, my green cookies.  And although I didn’t this time, I’ve had good results adding citrus zest to the dough as well.  Spritz cookies are awesome because you can eat a bunch without feeling bad.  And they’re shaped without you having to roll out dough or use cookie cutters or any of that complicated stuff.  You just fill the tube and gun them out.

I’m starting to think more and more that this blog should have been called “being domestic/artsy for lazy people.”

Enjoy!

One thought on “Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Leave a Reply

