Day Tripping: LACMA

IMG_9167

After a busy but wonderful early January, we finally found ourselves with a free Saturday.  As we pondered how to spend it, I discovered that it was a free museum day at the LACMA.  I was super thrilled because I really wanted to go back when the Tim Burton exhibit was in town and pretty much ever since, but I’ve never made it.

So we hopped on a bus and rode downtown.

I always get excited when we are near the LACMA because I love Urban Light.  Such a cool installation.

IMG_9181 IMG_9183

I’ve never seen it at night, but it’s on my list.  We’re such west siders, we’re never near that part of town after dark unless there’s a concert or something.

IMG_9301

We got our tickets squared away and hit the galleries.

IMG_9189

IMG_9194

 

Looking cultured.

 

IMG_9335

Ryan’s not big into museums, but he occasionally really digs a piece.  I’m saving his favorite for last.

IMG_9195

This was one of my favorites.  It was a little metal framed cabin/building completely covered in film strips.

IMG_9376

 

IMG_9216

I’m always a sucker for bright, colorful shiny things

IMG_9228

 

This staircase was too much fun

IMG_9256

IMG_9279

Ryan wouldn’t pose with the sculptures, but I did.

IMG_9285

 

We decided to take a break and head across the street to the sea of food trucks.

And found a truck from a restaurant we loved!

IMG_9296

Hooray Komodo Cafe!

IMG_9298

 

The truck food wasn’t as transformative as the restaurant’s was, but it was still good.

We wandered over to the La Brea Tar Pits for a stroll before heading back to the art.  Check out the awesome wooly mammoth in the water.  The tar pits are definitely on our list for another day.

IMG_9315

 

Kinetic sculpture fountain

 

IMG_9379

 

One more picture with a silver stone wall.  I told you I can’t resist shiny things!

 

IMG_9356

And as promised, I saved Ryan’s favorite (and possibly mine, too) for last.

Metropolis II

It’s a crazy set of tracks and buildings and cars that just go and go and go.

They didn’t allow videos, so I won’t post the ones I took.  But it’s super cool, and worth a visit for sure.  We watched for probably half an hour.

Here’s a video that the LACMA blog posted.

IMG_9372

Leave a Reply

